Making The Best Out Of This

“You have breast cancer.” I could see them waiting for my reaction. “Ok”, I said. After being an oncology nurse for several years the news didn’t impact me. And after how my life has turned around and the way things have unfolded around me lately, nothing surprises me anymore. With pathology results, a book on breast cancer, tons of information, and a follow up appointment with a surgeon I headed home. I don’t know if it was denial or laziness, but everything stayed in my car untouched until the day of the appointment.

I met the surgeon couple of weeks later. He explained the biopsy results and asked me what I wanted. But I didn’t know. I went for an MRI guided biopsy and another area showed more cancer cells. “Ok. Definitely, I need a double mastectomy”, I thought. “Let’s make the best out of this. I want reconstruction and a little bigger”, I said. “That’s the spirit”, the nurse said. “I’ll take care of that for you”, the surgeon said.

My friend Lisa called. She took the day off in case I needed her. And I needed her to drive me to the surgery. Next thing I know, I woke up in my bed, at home. I could hear my grandkids laughing and playing in the porch. The baby was laying next to me making me feel useful and happy. I’m blessed in so many ways. Today my trust in God is stronger than ever. No need to ask or tell Him anything. I know He got my back. No matter what may be; Is it a friend by my side, the laughter of my little ones, the love of my family, or bigger boobs (😂), God knows how to make the best out of this new challenge in my life.

3 responses to “Making The Best Out Of This”

  1. Jessica Lewallen Avatar
    Jessica Lewallen

    It’s the bigger boobs lol jk ❤️😍

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s touching and funny at the same time. I think it’s definitely the bigger boobs😄. I love your spirit!

    Like

  3. That’s touching and funny at the same time. I think it’s definitely the bigger boobs😄. I love your spirit and you got this!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started